wmw-logo_reseda_130308

EuroPride 2019

at Kunsthistorisches Museum, Weltmuseum Wien & Theatermuseum

From 1 to 16 June, 2019 EuroPride takes place in Vienna. On this occasion, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Weltmuseum Wien and the Theatermuseum have assembled a diverse and queer event programme. Join us in seeing Old Masters in a new light and discover ambiguity, exceptions to the norm and eroticism where you wouldn’t typically expect them.

On Monday, 3 June
we celebrate

Pride Day at the Kunsthisto­ri­sches Museum

1.30 p.m. Drag Queen trifft Alte Meister – Queer Sein in Renaissance und Barock
Drag Queen Guided Tour (German)

3 p.m. A Drag Queen's View – Queer People in Renaissance und Baroque
Drag Queen Guided Tour (English)

4 p.m. We Could Be Heroes. Über Männlichkeiten
Drag Queen Guided Tour (German)

4.30 p.m. Drag Queen trifft Alte Meister – Queer Sein in Renaissance und Barock
Drag Queen Guided Tour (English)

On Friday, 7 June
we celebrate

Pride Day at the Weltmuseum
Wien

1 p.m. Till Death Do Us Part
Guided Tour in English

6 p.m. Desire, Lust and Fertility
Guided Tour in English

7–10 p.m. FemFriday #9
Concert and Artist Talk

The Schedule

Drag Queen Guided Tour with Tiefe Kümmernis

Die Tiefe Kümmernis is a drag queen who has been guiding tours at Kunsthistorisches Museum for the past three years. Her alter ego, Benjamin, is an art historian and works for our education department. For EuroPride, Die Tiefe Kümmernis hosts queer tours in the paintings gallery. In addition to that, we invite you to discover a varied program of thematic tours, lectures, performances and more, all surrounding queer topics in the museum.

Our events from

Show allKunsthistorisches Museum WienWeltmuseum WienTheatermuseumWagenburg

Europride at Kunst­histo­risches Museum...

The Kunsthistorisches Museum presents objects from five millennia – but what do they have to do with Europride? One might assume that LGBTI* people have only existed for a short while and that’s why there are no related objects in historical collections. This assumption is false, however – diverse types of gender identity and sexual preferences have always existed, but without the current terminology and discourse.

*) LGBTI* = Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex.
The asterisk (*) denotes that this enumeration is not definite.

Intersexuality

Intersex people are born with sex characteristics that do not match typical definitions of male or female bodies. This kind of natural variance has always existed. Mythology bears witness to that: The most famous intersex character of antiquity is called Hermaphroditus.

His legend was a popular subject in renaissance and baroque art, however, artists were uncertain whether to, and how to, depict intersex bodies.

The term “androgynous” (from ancient greek andrógynos: “manwoman”) has often been used interchangeably with intersex. However, nowadays it is mostly found in the context of beauty ideals. In European art around 1600, bodies with androgynous looks were particularly in style. Take this painting by Bartholomäus Spranger as an example: Bacchus and Ceres, who are traditionally considered to be male and female respectively, look rather similar in this case.


Homosexuality and Bisexuality

A well-known example of LGBTI* history is same-sex love between men in ancient Greece and Rome. We know of multiple rulers who both had wives and male partners who meant a great deal to them. Among them are Hadrian, Trajan and Alexander the Great. From today’s perspective, one could speak of bisexuality or homosexuality. Similar things can be assumed of women in antiquity. But they were hardly even allowed to participate in public life and that’s why the records of their sexual interests and love lives are much more scarce. Sappho is a famous exception to this rule. She lived on the isle of Lesbos (which inspired the word “lesbian”) and created poetry which described the inner and outer beauty of her female companions.

Even mighty warriors sometimes loved members of their own sex. Achilles, the legendary hero, had a partner named Patroclus. When Patroclus was killed by Hector in the Trojan War, Achilles was quick to slay Hector in revenge. On this ancient vase painting, Hector’s father is demanding the return of his son’s dead body (lying beneath the bed) from Achilles (lying on top of the bed).

There is a great deal of artists whose sexual inclinations have been speculated about even during their life time. Caravaggio, who might have been bisexual, is a notorious example of that.

You can find out more about Caravaggio in our special exhibition Caravaggio & Bernini. On view from 15 October 2019.

Even at the Hapsburg court in Vienna there are records of same-sex love. Isabella of Bourbon-Parma was 19 years old when she was married to the subsequent emperor Joseph II. She exchanged letters with her sister-in-law, Marie Christine, who was roughly the same age. One can gather from these letters that the two women were joined in more than just mutual admiration (“Adieu, I kiss you and worship you to a degree which I cannot express”, among many other examples).


Travesty

Men and women who swapped clothes and the transgression of socially enforced gender norms can be found in art, too. The story of Hercules and Omphale relates how the hero had to serve as a queen’s slave and how they ended up falling in love. They’re said to have swapped clothes – for their own amusement, or maybe even to spice up their love life. However, Hercules got used to his female role, which the narrative equals with subordination and depreciation. Omphale, on the other hand, had no reason for shame after swapping clothes and social roles – instead, she even gained prestige and power. One day, Hercules remembered his duties as a hero and left Omphale. 


The Feminine Point of View

Time and time again, women managed to assert themselves in Europe’s patriarchal structures and become successful artists. Michaelina Woutiers from Flanders is a perfect example of that. Her Bacchanal is of monumental size, which women painters were thought incapable of creating. The painting depicts the revelry’s leader, Bacchus, not as an unsightly drunkard, but as an alluring nude in the painting’s centre. This could be interpreted as a reversal of the male (heterosexual) gaze, which otherwise rules in art history. The painter may have even included a self-portrait in the character on the right-hand edge of the canvas.

Europride at Weltmuseum Wien…

The Weltmuseum Wien is one of the world’s foremost ethnographical museums, with extensive collections of objects, historical photographs and books about non-European cultures. Among the multitude of objects from all over the world, there are many indicators of the fact that queer topics are not only a current phenomenon, but that they have been a part of various cultures for a very long time.

Tara

In scholarly Buddhism, the Goddess Tara embodies the “protective acts of compassion”. She offers protection from the dangers which seekers might face on the way to Nirvana: pride, misguidance, wrath, jealousy, fallacious ideas, parsimony, lust and doubt. For many laypeople, she is somewhat of a motherly figure when it comes to finding support for the troubles of this world.

According to the tradition of Tibetan Buddhism, Tara was incarnated as a princess, who steadfastly worked for the welfare of all sentient beings. When she reached a higher plane of existence, a sneering monk remarked to her that she could now reincarnate in a (putatively) more convenient male body, because a woman’s body was rather hindering in reaching enlightenment. The princess thereupon made a promise to always incarnate as a woman and to attain enlightenment in a female body. In Tibet, she became known as Tara the Saviouress, and offered inspiration for generations of practitioners of both genders. With her awakening, she proved that a female body can achieve enlightenment in the same way as a male body.


Walter Spies

The German painter, musician and collector Walter Spies (1895-1942) was one of the best Bali connoisseurs of his time. He collected the ornamented Lamak motifs and documented them with pencil and ink on paper. Palm leaf Lamak are hung in Balinese temples and are discarded when they have wilted after a few days. As a homosexual man, Spies suffered many attacks from the Dutch colonial government in Indonesia and he was arrested multiple times.

Europride at Theater­museum…

Currently, the Theatermuseum is dedicated to artistic dance in two exhibitions. The essence of classical ballet at the traditional opera house on the Ringstrasse takes centre-stage in The Pointe Dances. 150 Years of Ballet at the Wiener Staatsoper. Everybody dances. The Cosmos of Viennese Dance Modernism attempts to inscribe significant female dancers of modernism into the great Viennese narrative. It focuses on pioneering dancers, choreographers and teachers such as Isadora Duncan, Grete Wiesenthal, Gertrud Bodenwieser or Rosalia Chladek and many more.

Like no other art form, dance reflects gender attributions and relationships. But it also leaves room and opportunity for the discourse of these patterns or the liberation from them.

Role Models

Many female dancers dealt with given role structures and criticized gender specific role attributions. The nun is seen as embodiment of a nonsexual woman who dedicates her life to God. Hence the play with the nun’s costume is a game with female physicality and sexuality. Here we meet Mura Ziperowitsch, who by wearing a nun similar costume refers to the female corporality.


Grotesque

The numerous works that female dancers of Modernism characterized as grotesque allow to break with expectations of grace and charme in dance and to try out unconventional roles, positions, gestures and jumps. The caricature-like costumes and masques of the grotesque which also intends that clothes are worn by the opposite gender, can be found with many renowned female dancers in the 1920es, like Cilly Wang or Valeria Kratina.


Liberation

The modern dance is also a story of the women’s emancipation. They free themselves from institutional constraints, found their own studios, become dancers, choreographers and teachers and eventually lead an independent life. The dancers overcome pre-defined structures, figures and poses of the classical ballet as well as corset and pointe shoe, dance barefoot and with flying hair.

wmw-logo_reseda_130308

EuroPride 2019

im Kunsthistorischen Museum, Weltmuseum Wien & Theatermuseum

Von 1. bis 16. Juni 2019 findet in Wien die EuroPride statt. Aus diesem Anlass haben das Kunsthistorische Museum, das Weltmuseum Wien und das Theatermuseum ein vielfältiges und queeres Programm für Sie zusammengestellt. Werfen Sie mit uns neue Blicke auf Alte Meister und kuriose Objekte und entdecken Sie Uneindeutiges, Ungewöhnliches und Erotisches, wo Sie es vielleicht nicht vermuten.

Am Montag, den 3.6. ist

Pride Day im Kunsthisto­ri­schen Museum Wien

13.30 Uhr Drag Queen trifft Alte Meister – Queer Sein in Renaissance und Barock
Drag Queen Führung (Deutsch)

15 Uhr A Drag Queen's View – Queer People in Renaissance und Baroque
Drag Queen Führung (English)

16 Uhr We Could Be Heroes. Über Männlichkeiten
Drag Queen Führung (Deutsch)

16.30 Uhr Drag Queen trifft Alte Meister – Queer Sein in Renaissance und Barock
Drag Queen Führung (English)

Am Freitag, den 7.6. ist

Pride Day im Weltmuseum
Wien

13 Uhr Till Death Do Us Part
Guided Tour in English

18 Uhr Desire, Lust and Fertility
Guided Tour in English

19–22 Uhr FemFriday #9
Concert and Artist Talk

Das Programm

Drag Queen Führung mit der Tiefen Kümmernis

Queere Identitäten sind eine Erfindung der Moderne? Falsch gedacht! Schon immer gab es Menschen, die gleichgeschlechtlich liebten, oder nicht ins klassische Mann-Frau-Schema passten. Die Tiefe Kümmernis lädt zu einer queeren Erkundungstour in der Gemäldegalerie ein.

Unsere Veranstaltungen ab

Alle anzeigenKunsthistorisches Museum WienWeltmuseum WienTheatermuseumWagenburg

So queer ist das Kunst­historische Museum…

Das Kunsthistorische Museum zeigt Objekte aus fünf Jahrtausenden – aber wie passt denn das zur Europride? Man könnte denken, dass LGBTI*-Personen erst seit kurzer Zeit existieren und sich in historischen Kunstsammlungen deswegen keine Hinweise auf sie finden ließen. Das ist jedoch falsch – schon immer existierten unterschiedliche Arten von geschlechtlicher Identität und sexueller Anziehung, jedoch gab es die heutigen Bezeichnungen dafür noch nicht.

*) LGBTI* = Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex;
Der Asterisk (*) steht für die Erweiterbarkeit dieser Aufzählung.

Inter­ge­schlecht­lich­keit

Intergeschlechtliche Menschen werden mit Geschlechts­­merk­­­malen geboren, die nicht eindeutig den Kategorien „männlich“ oder „weiblich“ zuzu­­ordnen sind. Das ist eine natür­liche Varianz, die schon immer vorkam. Auch in der Mytho­­logie schlägt sich dies nieder – der Herma­­phroditus ist die bekann­teste antike Sagen­­figur, die inter­geschlecht­­lich ist.

In der Neuzeit wurde die Geschichte des Hermaphroditus gerne dargestellt, jedoch waren sich die Künstler*Innen nicht immer einig, ob und wie man intergeschlechtliche Körper darstellen soll.

Der Begriff Androgynie („Mannfraulichkeit“) wurde manchmal gleichbedeutend mit Intergeschlechtlichkeit verwendet. Heute jedoch verwendet man das Wort meist im Zusammenhang mit Schönheitsidealen. In der europäischen Kunst um 1600 waren Figuren mit androgynem Aussehen äußerst beliebt. Beispielsweise sehen sich Bacchus und Ceres, die eigentlich unterschiedlichen Geschlechts sind, in einem Bild von Bartholomäus Spranger sehr ähnlich. 


Homosexualität und Bisexualität

Ein relativ bekanntes Beispiel ist die gleichgeschlechtliche Liebe unter Männern im antiken Griechenland und Rom. Von mehreren Herrschern wissen wir, dass sie neben ihren Ehefrauen männliche Liebhaber hatten, die ihnen sehr viel bedeuteten. Dazu gehören Hadrian, Traian und Alexander der Große. Man könnte aus der heutigen Sicht also von Bisexualität oder Homosexualität sprechen. Von den Frauen der Antike ist ähnliches anzunehmen. Sie durften jedoch kaum am öffentlichen Leben teilhaben und deswegen gibt es wenige Zeugnisse darüber, wen und wie sie liebten. Eine berühmte Ausnahme ist die Dichterin Sappho, die auf der Insel Lesbos (daher kommt auch der Begriff lesbisch) lebte und die innerliche sowie äußerliche Schönheit ihrer Freundinnen beschrieb.

Auch mächtige Kämpfer liebten mitunter Angehörige des eigenen Geschlechts. Der sagenhafte Held Achilles hatte einen Partner namens Patroklos. Als dieser im trojanischen Krieg vom gegnerischen Hektor getötet wurde, ermordete Achilles Hektor daraufhin aus Rache. Auf einer antiken Vasenmalerei kann man sehen, wie der Vater des Hektor die Leiche seines Sohnes (unter der Liege) vom liegenden Achilles (obenauf liegend) zurückfordert.

Es gibt auch einige Künstler, über deren sexuelle Neigungen schon zu ihren Lebzeiten spekuliert wurde. Caravaggio, der möglicherweise bisexuell war, ist ein besonders bekanntes Beispiel dafür. 

Mehr zu Caravaggio erfahren Sie in unserer Sonderausstellung Caravaggio & Bernini: Zu sehen ab 15. Oktober 2019.

Auch am Hof der Habsburger in Wien gab es gleichgeschlechtliche Liebe. Isabella von Bourbon-Parma war 19 Jahre alt, als sie den späteren Kaiser Joseph II. heiratete. Sie schrieb Briefe mit ihrer fast gleichalten Schwägerin, Erzherzogin Marie Christine. Den Briefen kann man entnehmen, dass die beiden Frauen durch mehr als nur gegenseitige Bewunderung verbunden waren („Adieu, ich küsse Sie und bete Sie an bis zu einem Grade, den ich nicht sagen kann“, und viele weitere Beispiele). 


Travestie

Auch der Kleidertausch zwischen Mann und Frau sowie das Überschreiten von sozial festgeschriebenen Geschlechtergrenzen findet sich in der Kunst wieder. Die Geschichte von Herkules und Omphale beschreibt, wie der Held sich als Sklave einer Königin verdingen musste und die beiden sich ineinander verliebten. Zum Spaß – oder sogar zur Luststeigerung – sollen sie ihre Kleider getauscht haben. Jedoch hat sich Herkules an seine weibliche Rolle gewöhnt, was in den Erzählungen mit Unterwürfigkeit einherging und sehr negativ gewertet wurde. Omphale dagegen hatte durch den Kleider- und Rollentausch keinen Grund zur Scham – sie gewann sogar an Ansehen und Macht. Eines Tages besann sich Herkules wieder seiner Heldenrolle und verließ Omphale. 


Der weibliche Blick

Immer wieder gelang es Frauen, sich in der patriarchalen Gesellschaftsordnung Europas zu behaupten und künstlerisch erfolgreich zu sein. Michaelina Woutiers aus Flandern ist ein perfektes Beispiel dafür. Ihr Bacchanal ist monumental groß, was man Malerinnen damals gar nicht zutraute. Das Bild zeigt den Anführer des Gelages, Bacchus, nicht als unattraktiven Säufer, sondern als anziehenden Akt im Bildzentrum. Darin könnte man eine Umkehr des männlich-heterosexuellen Blicks, der die Kunstgeschichte dominiert, erkennen. Die Malerin hat eventuell sogar ein verstecktes Selbstporträt in der Figur am rechten Bildrand inkludiert.
 

So queer ist das Weltmuseum Wien…

Das Weltmuseum Wien zählt mit seinen umfassenden Sammlungen von ethnografischen Objekten, historischen Fotografien und Büchern zu außereuropäischen Kulturen zu den bedeutendsten ethnografischen Museen der Welt. Unter den vielen Objekten aus aller Welt finden sich auch zahlreiche Hinweise darauf, dass queere Themen nicht erst eine „Erscheinung“ unserer Zeit sind, sondern schon sehr lange Teil unterschiedlichster Kulturen waren und sind.

Tara

Im gelehrten Buddhismus verkörpert die Göttin Tara „die schützende Aktivität des Mitleids“. Sie schützt vor den Gefahren, die den Strebenden auf dem Weg ins Nirvana drohen: Stolz, Verblendung, Zorn, Eifersucht, irrige Ansichten, Geiz, Begierde und Zweifel. Für viele Laien nimmt sie beinahe mütterliche Qualitäten an, wenn es gilt, Unterstützung bei den Problemen dieser Welt zu finden.

Nach der Überlieferung des tibetischen Buddhismus war Tara vor langer Zeit als eine Prinzessin inkarniert, die unentwegt zum Wohle der fühlenden Wesen arbeitete. Als sie eine hohe Stufe der Verwirklichung erlangte, meinte ein spöttischer Mönch, sie könne ja von nun an bewusst im (vermeintlich) günstigeren männlichen Körper inkarnieren, da der Körper einer Frau doch eher hinderlich zur Erlangung der Erleuchtung sei. Daraufhin legte die Prinzessin das Versprechen ab, fortan ausschließlich als Frau zu inkarnieren, um Erleuchtung in einem weiblichen Körper zu erlangen. In Tibet wurde sie nach dem Erreichen ihres Zieles als die Befreierin Tara bekannt und zur Inspiration für Generationen von Praktizierenden beiderlei Geschlechts. Sie demonstrierte mit ihrer Erleuchtung, dass ein weiblicher Körper in gleicher Weise zur Erlangung der Erleuchtung befähigt, wie ein männlicher.


Walter Spies

Der deutsche Maler, Musiker und Sammler Walter Spies (1895–1942) war einer den besten Bali-Kenner seiner Zeit. Spies sammelte die ornamentreichen Motive der Lamak und hielt sie mit Bleistift und Tinte auf Papier fest. Lamak aus Palmblättern werden in balinesischen Tempeln aufgehängt und nach nur wenigen Tagen als verwelktes Material entsorgt. Er litt als Homosexueller stark unter den Anfeindungen der holländischen Kolonialregierung in Indonesien und wurde mehrfach in Haft genommen. 

So queer ist das Theater­­museum…

Derzeit widmet sich das Theatermuseum in zwei Ausstellungen dem künstlerischen Tanz. In Die Spitze tanzt. 150 Jahre Ballett an der Wiener Staatsoper steht das Wesen des klassischen Balletts im traditions­­reichen Opern­haus am Ring im Zentrum. Alles tanzt. Kosmos Wiener Tanzmoderne unter­nimmt den Versuch, zentrale Tänzerinnen der Moderne in die große Wien-Erzählung einzuschreiben. Im Fokus stehen dabei für die europäische Moderne weg­weisende Tänzerinnen, Choreografinnen und Pädagoginnen wie Isadora Duncan, Grete Wiesenthal, Gertrud Bodenwieser und Rosalia Chladek und viele mehr.

Wie kaum eine andere Kunstform spiegelt der Tanz geschlechts­bedingte Zuschreibungen und Verhältnisse wieder. Er gibt aber auch Raum und Möglichkeit für die Thematisierung dieser Muster oder für die Befreiung aus diesen.

Rollenbilder

Viele Tänzerinnen haben sich mit vorgegebenen Rollenbildern aus­einander­gesetzt und Kritik an geschlechts­spezifischen Rollen­zuweisungen geübt. Die Nonne gilt wohl als Inbegriff der asexuellen Frau, die ihr Leben Gott verschrieben hat. Das Spiel mit dem Nonnen­kostüm ist also ein Spiel mit Körperlichkeit und Sexualität. Hier begegnen wir Mura Ziperowitsch, die in einem nonnen­ähnlichen Kostüm auf die weibliche Körperlichkeit verweist.


Groteske

Die vielen von TänzerInnen der Moderne als Groteske bezeichneten Stücke ermöglichten die Erwartungen auf Anmut und Charme im Tanz zu durchbrechen und unkonventionelle Rollen, Haltungen, Gesten und Sprünge auszuprobieren. Die in der Groteske überzeichneten karikaturhaften Kostüme und Masken, die auch das Tragen von Kleidung des anderen Geschlechts beinhalten, findet sich bei namhaften Tänzerinnen der 1920er Jahre, wie Cilly Wang oder Valeria Kratina wieder..


Befreiung

Der Moderne Tanz ist auch eine Geschichte der Befreiung der Frauen. Sie befreien sich aus dem Zwang von Institutionen, gründen eigene Studios, sind Tänzerinnen, Choreografinnen und Pädagoginnen und führen ein unabhängiges Leben. Die Tänzerinnen lassen vorgegebene Strukturen, Figuren und Posen des klassischen Balletts sowie Korsett und Spitzenschuh hinter sich, tanzen barfuß und mit wehendem Haar.